C-section awareness month

April is c-section awareness month. Its aim is to educate people about cesareans and also try and decrease the amount of unnecessary c-sections..

As I have previously said in my birth story post  I had to have a c-section. When you mention c-sections to people you get comments like ‘easy way out’ or ‘too posh to push’.

You feel when you have a c-section and people ask about your birth that you have to justify yourself. You don’t always know why someone has had a c-section and shouldn’t assume it was their choice.

I didn’t choose to have a section but it meant my baby was delivered safely. And it is by no means the easy way, it is major surgery.

On What Health website it states that a cesarean section is a surgical operation in which a baby is delivered through a cut in the front wall of the abdomen and womb. This procedure is often used when a vaginal birth carries a higher risk of complications.

For example, a cesarean section may be performed when:

  • A baby is in a feet first position (breech position).
  • The mother has gone into premature labor.
  • The labor does not progress in a normal manner.
  • There is a viral infection (such as hepatitis C or HIV).
  • The mother has placenta praevia; a condition in which the placenta is low lying and covers part of the entrance to the womb.

For me I was induced and not progressing, my blood pressure was high and my baby’s heart rate started to drop so the doctor decided the best course of action was a c-section. The reasoning was that if they did it then it wouldn’t be an emergency and they could take their time. I was disappointed but knew it was the best thing for me and my baby.

So in the future if you find out someone has had a c-section don’t just assume it was vanity reasons instead just tell the mum they are doing a great job as regardless of how the baby gets here the important thing is that they are loved and healthy.

Leave a comment