My birth story

Personally I think there are two birth stories, the one you want and the one you end up with. I don’t know many people who have had the labour they planed, as you just never know what is going to happen.

When you go to the antenatal classes and attend your midwife appointments you are asked about your birth plan or as it is starting to be referred to your birth preference.

I wanted a water birth, in a midwife led unit and when it came to drugs I hadn’t made up my mind I was just going to go with the flow. What I didn’t expect was that when I had to go in for a growth scan less than 24 hours later I would end up having a c-section 10 days before my due date.

At my 38 week appointment my bump hadn’t got any bigger so my midwife suggested a growth scan a couple of days later. It was lovely to see the baby again on the screen but he was measuring quite small and I had lost fluid so they suggested I be induced.

It was a roller-coaster with a lot of tears. I was given two pessarys in total neither of which worked. They were just going to let nature take its course but it was when my blood pressure rocketed and the baby’s heart rate dropped that they decided I was going to have a c-section cue more tears in my defense it was 3am in the morning I was hungry, nervous and tired.

The midwives at Queen Alexandra Hospital in Portsmouth were excellent. Even though it was a roller-coaster and not the way I expected to have my baby I could not have faulted them and they made me felt at ease the whole time. From the midwife who booked me in to the team in theatre at no point did I feel scared or worried about myself or my baby.

My c-section went well, it takes roughly 40 minutes in total but the baby is out within 10 and the rest is just sewing you up. The moment I heard my baby cry was the most phenomenal moment of my life – he was here. I was a mum. My husband cut the cord and the happiness on his face said it all. I couldn’t believe it when afterwards they placed the baby on my chest for some skin to skin I couldn’t stop looking at him. My mum was also with my husband and I and when I was wheeled back through I introduced her to her grandson.

Even though it didn’t go to the way I would have wanted I would say I had a positive birthing experience but even so I still felt like a failure. I never felt contractions or the need to push. I didn’t choose to have a c-section but feel I have to justify the fact I did to whoever I meet that asks. Some say it is the easy option, I don’t agree. Having a newborn after a major surgery (which I think we forget a c-section is) is not easy.

The first night as a mum was hard. A screaming newborn, trying to breastfeed and feel battered was not ideal but getting to go home with my husband and son was the best feeling.

My advice to any mums-to-be is to go with the flow. I know so many people that have stressed in the delivery room as they wanted this and that but couldn’t have it. If it isn’t going how you planned don’t stress the most important thing is that you and the baby are ok and little one is delivered safely. .

 

Top things for your hospital bag

  1. Magazines or a book. I wasn’t in labour for hours but once everyone goes home it gets boring.
  2. Sweets and snacks. We didn’t have dinner and I missed the hospital dinner so I had to make do with random bits from the hospital shop.
  3.  More than one nightie. Mine got ruined and my husband didn’t tell my about the massive blood stain at the back…classy.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment